Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131

Fire Australia 2022: Fire Protection Industry Awards 2022

Posted on : Wednesday, 4 May 2022

This year's Conference Gala and Awards Dinner marked the second time that the conference dinner hosted the Fire Protection Industry Awards.  


An array of excellent and inspiring nominations for the sixth year of the awards were reviewed by our expert panel of judges, and the winners were congratulated on the night.  


FPA Australia thanks all the finalists for their excellent work and support of the fire protection industry, and is delighted to announce the deserving winners: 



Board appointed awards 



A V Viscogliosi Award:  Norm Winn, Norm Winn and Associates


Norm Winn


Meritorious Service Award: Matthew Press, Construct NSW



Not present at the dinner. 




Independently-judged awards



Barry Lee Technical Excellence Award:  David Isaac, Fire and Safety Technologies - sponsored by Wormald Australia


David Isaac 1


Fire Protection Project of the Year (Over $1 million):  Neil Pinchers, Firemex


Neil Pinchers


Fire Protection Project of the Year (Under $1 million):  Firas Shawash, i-Fire Engineers (collected by a colleague)




Harry Marryatt Fire Protection Company of the Year Award (1-49 Employees):  Civil Fire


Civil Fire


Innovative Product and Technology Award:  Scott Russell, Wastech Engineering - sponsored by Uptick


Scott Russell


Ron Coffey Award for Excellence in Bushfire Protection:  Kathryn Jackson,WA Planning and Logistics 


Kathryn Jackson


Emerging Fire Protection Industry Leader:  Simon Matthews, Jacobs Group (Australia)


Not present at the dinner. 



Young Achiever of the Year Award:   Drew Ivison, Civil Fire  - sponsored by  UL


Drew Ivison



Honorary Life Members


FPA Australia was delighted to induct two new honorary life members on the night. 


Former President Bill Lea and former Director David Isaac were worthy recipients of the accolade, recognised for their long-term commitment to both the Association and the fire protection sector.  


We congratulate Bill and David for their achievement.  






FPA Australia would like to thank our independent judging panel for 2022 for their time and dedication to the awards process:  

  • Elvira Nigido - Global Technical Halocarbon Manager, A-Gas Australia
  • Brett Staines - Special Hazards Fire Protection Consultant
  • Blake Bambridge - Fire Systems Designer, LCI Australia


Thanks also to all of the companies and people who took the time to participate and submit a nomination(s) this year, and our congratulations go to all the winners.  


Fire protection is going from strength to strength, and this year's Award recipients are leading lights in our industry.  


We hope everyone who attended the dinner enjoyed the second annual combined event and look forward to celebrating it again with our members and supporters next year.