Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131
CONNECT Member Login

Awards recognise distinguished fire service members

Posted on : Tuesday, 12 June 2018

Fire Protection Association Australia wishes to congratulate the 29 recipients of the Australian Fire Service Medal, listed below, who were presented with the award as part of the Queen's Birthday 2018 Honours List.


The Australian Fire Service Medal recognises distinguished service by members of the country's fire services, both paid and volunteer.


Read a full profile of all the 2018 award winners here.



New South Wales


Mr Geoffrey Kenneth ANDREW
Burra NSW 2620


Mr David John GILL
Wagga Wagga NSW 2650


Mr Martin Fennessy HARRISON
Coonamble NSW 2829


Eglinton NSW 2795


Mr Shane David KEARNEY
Kelso NSW 2795


Mr Neale Bensley MUTTON
Bolwarra NSW 2320


Mr Gregory Patrick RANKIN
Gymea NSW 2227


Mr Eric Herbert SHANKS
Dubbo NSW 2830


Mr Peter Francis SHEARER


Mr Wayne Ronald YOUNG
Forresters Beach NSW 2260




Mr Ronald Neil BEER
Yea Vic 3717


Mr Mark Anthony GILMORE
Kingower Vic 3517


Mr Alan Francis HODGKIN
Bayswater Vic 3153


Mr David Peter LANYON
St Arnaud Vic 3478


Mr Damien Phillip O'CONNOR
Wonthaggi Vic 3995


Ms Bridget Ruth RYAN
Smythesdale Vic 3351




Mr Donald Philip BALDWIN
Thangool Qld 4715


Mr Leslie Norman GREEN
Kairi Qld 4872


Ms Kaye Michelle HEALING
Ipswich Qld 4305


Mr Alan Edward RICHARDS
Springbrook Qld 4213


Mr David John WOODS
Wurtulla Qld 4575


Western Australia


Mr Robert Beverley COOK
St James WA 6102


Mr Ian Andrew JOSEPH
Australind WA 6233


Mr Francis PRATT
Kingsley WA 6026


South Australia


Mr Desmond John FORD
Care Gully SA 5144


Mr Robert Glenn SANDFORD
Fairview Park SA 5126


Australian Capital Territory


Mr Kevin Clarence JEFFERY


Mr Wayne Stanley SHAW
Crace ACT 2911


Northern Territory


Mr David Gordon LINES
Palmerston NT 0830