Fire Safety Reform in NSW

FPAS is mandatory in NSW


The Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) was formally approved by the Secretary of the Department of Customer Service under  section 59 of the Building and Development Certifiers Act 2018


This means that if you: 


  • endorse plans and specifications for designs, and do not hold C8 or C14 registration with the Department, you must be Fire Systems Design (FSD) accredited; or


  • endorse fire safety measures on annual or supplementary fire safety statements, you must be Fire Safety Assessment (FSA) accredited. 


All other fire protection roles are unaffected by the announcement.  


Read more


Recognition of FPAS


On 1 July, 2020, the Secretary of the NSW Department of Customer Service approved FPA Australia as an accreditation authority under section 59 of the Building and Development Certifiers Act 2018


This recognition was given in relation to the Fire Safety Assessment (FSA) and Fire Systems Design (FSD) classes of FPAS accreditation under the state's 2017 fire safety reforms.


This means that individuals holding FSA or FSD accreditation, as appropriate, are now 'Accredited Practitioners (Fire Safety)' under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 (formerly competent fire safety practitioners) and are the only ones who can endorse: 


  • design plans and specifications (except for C8 electrical engineers or C14 hydraulic certifiers); or

  • fire safety measures on an annual or supplementary fire safety statement.


You can read more about the reforms here


To see the Government's website about the reforms, click here.  


To see the Scheme Documents for the recognition of FPAS, click here