Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131

Inspection and Testing


  Individual Register buttonRBusiness Image


Select this option to validate an FPAS individual accreditation in 'Inspection and Testing' via our National Register

Select this option to find an FPAS recognised business in your area providing 'Inspection and Testing' services


Inspection and Testing


The 'Inspection and Testing' class accredits individuals who perform 'inspection and testing' activities relating to selected essential safety measures in the fire protection industry. The Scheme focuses on activities associated with the essential safety measures covered in ten (10) areas of work that form the categories available under 'Inspect and Test' accreditation.  See the table of 'inspect and test' categories below in the Categories section.


Individuals accredited under the Scheme must ultimately demonstrate competency to provide services for which they are accredited via an objective, formal assessment process.


FPAS accreditation is available to members and non-members of FPA Australia.  




If you are an individual seeking to gain your FPAS Accreditation (Inspection & Testing).


To begin the online FPAS Accreditation application process, simply click here.  This will direct you to our Member CONNECT portal. Then, simply login using your Individual login ID. If you are unsure of your password, please use the "Forgot Password" feature to retrieve. If you have any issues logging in, please contact the team at for assistance.





The 'Inspection and Testing' class of work covers 'Inspection', that is 'to visually examine the components of fire protection systems or equipment to establish correct settings, physical condition or fitness for purpose'; and/or 'Testing', that is 'to test, after inspecting, by the confirmation of correct function or performance of a component or system'.


The 'Inspection and Testing' class covers two (2) levels of accreditation for some categories. The Routine Level (R) or Complex Level (C) are based on the skills and knowledge required to work within a category.


Routine (R) Level accreditation is for activities conducted up to and including six (6) monthly, as described in AS 1851-2012.


Complex (C) Level accreditation includes those activities for Routine Level (R), and other activities conducted annually as described in AS 1851-2012.





Fire protection technicians apply for accreditation in all categories available under FPAS that reflect the 'Inspection and Testing' work activities they currently carry out.


The individual applicant must meet the minimum requirements to be accredited in any one of the categories of 'Inspection and Testing' and can be accredited in more than one (1) category.


The categories for 'Inspection and Testing' accreditation are identified below:


Inspect & Test Categories




The 'Inspection and Testing' class has three (3) accreditation pathways for entry into the scheme:


1. Qualified Accreditation

2. Transitional Accreditation

3. Trainee Accreditation


Qualified Accreditation pathway


Qualified Accreditation refers to an individual who has the minimum required experience AND has completed the specific units of competency that relate to a particular category of Inspect & Test work activity.  These units can be found in the nationally-recognised Australian qualifications Certificate II or III - Fire Protection Inspection & Testing (formerly Cert II or III Asset Maintenance - Fire Protection). This combination of experience and the relevant units of competency has been deemed to demonstrate an acceptable standard of competence for this type of work in the fire protection industry.  


For more information on the three available pathways, please refer to our facts sheets found here.


Please note:  Other qualifications may deliver some of the relevant units of competency. 





Insurance cover provides benefits to accredited individuals, business entities and the broader community by mitigating the risks associated with an unforeseen event.


As such, accredited individuals in the 'Inspection and Testing' class should be appropriately covered by insurance for the fire protection services they undertake.


Insurance cover needs to be current and maintained, either through the business that employs an accredited individual or independently if the accredited individual operates as a sole trader.


The insurance requirement by the Scheme is to hold Public & Products Liability Insurance for a minimum of $10 million.


Code of Professional Conduct (CoPC)

The Code of Professional Conduct (the Code) prescribes the standards of behaviour and service delivery requirements expected of accredited individuals under FPAS. All accredited individuals must sign the Code of Professional Conduct declaration, stating that they will abide by the requirements of the Code and accept any decision if it is determined they have breached the Code.


Obtaining Accreditation


For further information on the 'Inspection and Testing' class:


  • Refer to the Inspection and Testing accreditation Fact Sheets (below).
  • Contact FPA Australia on (03) 8892 3131 and ask for the Accreditation/Licensing team.
  • Send an email to Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) at


Disclaimer:  FPAS is not a substitute for any requirements for licensing, registration or accreditation established by relevant applicable legislation (state, territory and/or federal) unless otherwise confirmed by relevant regulation.


Please Note:  Consultation regarding all elements of the Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) is ongoing and as such all information contained on this page is subject to change. 



Further information


Fact sheets, and other resources can be found here