Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131

Follow us: 

Member Login Connect

Inspect & Test


   RBusiness ImageIndividual Register button



Select this option to find an FPAS recognised business in your area providing 'Inspect and Test' services

Select this option to validate an FPAS individual accreditation in 'Inspect and Test' via our National Register



Inspect & Test


The 'Inspect and Test' class accredits individuals who perform 'inspect and test' activities relating to selected essential safety measures in the fire protection industry. The Scheme focuses on activities associated with the essential safety measures covered in ten (10) areas of work that form the categories available under 'Inspect and Test' accreditation.  See the table below for 'inspect and test' categories. 




The 'Inspect and Test' class of work covers 'Inspect', that is 'to visually examine the components of fire protection systems or equipment to establish correct settings, physical condition or fitness for purpose'; and 'Test', that is 'to test, after inspecting, by the confirmation of correct function or performance of a component or system'.


The 'Inspect and Test' class covers two (2) levels of accreditation for some categories. The Routine Level (R) or Complex Level (C) are based on the skills and knowledge required to work within a category.


Routine (R) Level applies to individuals accredited with R in a given category who have been deemed competent to conduct activities up to and including six (6) monthly as described in AS 1851-2012.


Complex (C) Level applies to individuals accredited with C in a given category who have been deemed competent to conduct those activities for Routine Level (R), and other activities conducted annually as described in AS 1851-2012.


Note: The 'Inspect and Test' accreditation under FPAS does not absolve the individual or company from satisfying any other relevant legislative or licensing requirements applicable to inspect and test fire protection systems.




Fire protection technicians are accredited under the Scheme to carry out work in the 'Inspect and Test' class for one (1) or more categories available under FPAS. 


The individual applicant will be evaluated and deemed competent to be accredited in any one of the categories of 'Inspect and Test' and can be accredited in more than one (1) category.


The categories for 'Inspect and Test' are identified below:


Inspect & Test Categories



The Pathways

The 'Inspect and Test' class has three (3) accreditation pathways for entry into the scheme:


1. Qualified Accreditation

2. Transitional Accreditation

3. Trainee Accreditation


Qualified Accreditation pathway


Qualified Accreditation refers to an individual who has completed the required units of competency for a specific category of work activities from the Certificate II or III in Fire Protection Inspection & Testing AND the minimum experience requirement. This has been deemed to provide an acceptable standard of workforce skills required in the fire protection industry.  

 FPAS Table Qual Path Dec2015


Entry prerequisite units of competency for the Qualified pathway are based on approved units from nationally recognised qualifications that are considered to provide an acceptable standard of workforce skills required in the fire protection industry.


Units of competency that are required for the ten (10) categories of 'inspect and test' work an individual seeks accreditation in can be found on the detailed Qualified Accreditation Table.


Transitional Accreditation pathway


Transitional Accreditation refers to an individual who has relevant work experience in the categories of Inspect and Test work they perform in the fire protection industry. An experienced applicant may have an existing qualification, but may not have all of the required units of competency to be eligible to apply for Qualified Accreditation


The Transitional pathway provides a two-year transition period for individuals to gain the required units of competency.

 Trans Path Table Dec 2015



Trainee Accreditation pathway


Trainee Accreditation refers to an individual who commits to working under direct supervision for the first three (3) months, and then under indirect supervision of an FPAS individual, either accredited as Qualified or Transitional in the same category, while undertaking approved formal learning.


The Trainee pathway provides a two-year transition period for individuals to gain the required units of competency to gain Qualified Accreditation.


Trainee Path Table Dec 2015 



Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Maintaining skills and knowledge in the workplace through continuing professional development (CPD) programs is considered essential for practitioners and professionals in many fields. CPD activities in the fire protection industry enable an individual to update and maintain technical competence and effectiveness in the workplace. 


CPD activities can include:

  • formal education and training
  • short courses
  • attendance at workshops, seminars and discussion groups and conferences
  • technical meetings
  • learning activities in the workplace
  • private study of journals, texts etc and 
  • preparation and presentation of materials for courses, conferences and seminars.


Under the Scheme, CPD commitment by an individual will be a future requirement of accreditation and renewal, to ensure that an individual is up-to-date with current work practices in the fire protection industry and in their accredited 'inspect and test' class.




Insurance cover provides benefits to accredited individuals, business entities and the broader community by mitigating the risks associated with an unforeseen event.


As such, accredited individuals in the 'Inspect and Test' class should be appropriately covered by insurance for the fire protection services they undertake.


Insurance cover needs to be current and maintained, either through the business that employs an accredited individual or independently if the accredited individual operates as a sole trader.


The insurance requirement by the Scheme is to hold Public & Products Liability Insurance for a minimum of $10 million.


Code of Professional Conduct (CoPC)

The Code of Professional Conduct (the Code) prescribes the standards of behaviour and service delivery requirements expected of accredited individuals under FPAS. All accredited individuals must sign the Code of Professional Conduct declaration, stating that they will abide by the requiremens of the Code and accept any decision if it is determined they have breached the Code.


Obtaining Accreditation


For further information on the 'Inspect and Test' class:


  • Refer to Obtaining Accreditation FACT Sheets (Inspect and Test) on the FPA Australia website
  • Contact FPA Australia on 03 8892 3131 and ask for the Accreditation/Licensing team
  • Send an email to Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) at 


Disclaimer:  FPAS is not a substitute for any requirements for licensing, registration or accreditation established by relevant applicable legislation (state, territory and/or federal) unless otherwise confirmed by relevant regulation.


Please Note:  Consultation regarding all elements of the Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) is ongoing and as such all information contained on this page is subject to change.