Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131

Fire Systems Design


The Fire Systems Design (FSD) class accredits individuals who perform design activities relating to selected fire safety systems. The Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) currently covers activities associated with the following fire safety systems:


  • Fire Sprinkler Systems
  • Fire Hydrant and Hose Reel Systems  
  • Fire Detection and Alarm Systems


These three (3) areas of work form the current available categories of Fire Systems Design.  


Fire Systems Design covers the preparation of designs to a required standard, where the final design documentation outlines the requisite design criteria and provides documentation for procurement / manufacture / construction / installation / and commissioning by competent personnel.


For each fire safety system available under FPAS, practitioners can select the appropriate level of work that best suits their individual needs and circumstances. Each level specifies the system types, configurations and the nature of work a practitioner at that level is accredited to undertake, as well as any conditions that relate to the defined level.


Further information on the categories and accreditation levels and restrictions can be found in Practice Note FSD-01 Fire Systems Design Accreditation Levels and Restrictions.



Scope of the role


The scope of work covered by the Fire Systems Design class of FPAS accreditation includes:


  1. Defining scope, system requirements and extent of Fire Systems Design projects.
  2. Planning sketch layout of the fire system design.
  3. Preparing detailed technical design documentation including plans and specifications for systems and equipment (including material, installation requirements, testing and commissioning, operations and maintenance manuals).


The activities for the Fire Systems Design class include:


  • Developing a design brief;
  • Assessing and interpreting the design requirements, legislation and codes;
  • Researching products and design solutions;
  • Specifying requirements of a design solution and products to meet design requirements, legislation and codes;
  • Conceptualising and documenting design solutions;
  • Validating that the design solution meets the required design criteria; and
  • Finalising documentation for the tender procurement, manufacture, construction and installation, commissioning and maintenance of the equipment for the system designed, to ensure the system meets all relevant codes and standards.
    • Such documentation would consist of system design calculations; system required reference data such as schematics, details of pressure gauge schedules, interface diagrams, cause and effect diagrams, technical specifications and tender and/or construction drawings.



Transitional Accredition

From 1 July, 2021, the Transitional Accreditation pathway for NSW Fire Systems Designs closed and all new applicants must meet the Qualified Accreditation requirements.


Practitioners who hold a Transitional Accreditation for NSW Fire Systems Design will have a period of four years dating either from the day they were accredited or 1 July, 2020, whichever is the later to meet the Qualified criteria, as detailed in the Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS).

If you have questions regarding your transtional accrediation, please contact the team via


Qualified Accreditation


The Qualified Pathway requires applicants to hold a relevant nationally recognised qualification aligned to the Fire Systems Design category or level they wish to apply for. There are 5 key requirements to meet the Qualified Crtieria:


  • Qualification
  • Units of Competency
  • Experience
  • Assessment
  • Insurance


Qualified Accreditation applications are now open; please refer to the Qualified FSD Accreditation Application.


More information on the Qualified Accreditation pathway can be found here: Transitional to Qualified.


FSD Qualification Pre-Check

Qualification Pre-Check has been created to assist new and existing practitioners identify any gaps in their Qualified Application before applying for the Fire Systems Design accreditation.Complete this form and return to




FPAS requires accredited individuals to be appropriately covered by insurance for the fire protection services they undertake. Further information about insurance requirements can be found in the Scheme.

If you have more questions, visit the Insurance FAQ page.



Continuing Professional Development (CPD)


Practitioners accredited under FPAS are required to undertake continuing professional development (CPD) in order to maintain their accreditation. This ensures that these practitioners can keep their knowledge and skills relevant and up-to-date.

It is a condition of accreditation for individuals to attain 20 CPD points per year, which can be met in a variety of ways.

Practitioners will not be able to renew their accreditation each year without providing evidence to FPA Australia that they have met the required threshold.

More information relating to CPD can be found here.





Any questions relating to Registered Training Organisations (RTO's) for FPA Australia must be directed to


The FPA Australia Accreditation Team are not an RTO, and as such are unable to provide advice regarding qualifications, units of competency or costs associated with obtaining these.