Fire Safety Measures

A fire safety measure means any measure (including any item of equipment, form of construction or fire safety strategy) that could be implemented in a building to ensure the safety of persons using the building in the event of fire. There are 36 individual FSMs available under the Fire Safety Assessment class of FPAS accreditation.


These FSMs are based on clause 166 of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Regulation 2000 and the requirements of annual fire safety statements, and include:


  • Access panels, doors and hoppers to fire-resisting shafts
  • Automatic fail-safe devices
  • Automatic fire detection and alarm systems (level 1)
  • Automatic fire detection and alarm systems (level 2)
  • Automatic fire suppression systems (level 1)
  • Automatic fire suppression systems  (level 2)
  • Division 7 Miscellaneous fire safety offences
  • Emergency lifts
  • Emergency lighting
  • Emergency planning
  • Emergency warning and intercommunication systems
  • Exit signs
  • Fire alarm monitoring
  • Fire control centres and rooms
  • Fire dampers
  • Fire doors
  • Fire hose reel systems 
  • Fire hydrant systems (level 1)
  • Fire hydrant systems (level 2)
  • Fire seals protecting openings in fire-resisting components of the building
  • Fire shutters
  • Fire windows
  • Lightweight construction
  • Mechanical air handling systems
  • Perimeter vehicle access for emergency vehicles
  • Portable fire extinguishers
  • Safety curtains in proscenium openings
  • Smoke alarms and heat alarms
  • Smoke and heat vents
  • Smoke dampers
  • Smoke detectors and heat detectors
  • Smoke doors
  • Solid core doors
  • Standby power systems
  • Wall-wetting sprinkler and drencher systems
  • Warning and operational signs


Other fire safety measures may be required by the building certifier and/or a performance (alternative) solution.