Fire Safety Assessment

FPAS is now mandatory in NSW


The Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) was formally  approved by the Secretary of the Department of Customer Service under  section 59 of the Building and Development Certifiers Act 2018


This means that if you: 


  • endorse plans and specifications for designs, and do not hold C8 or C14 registration with the Department, you must be Fire Systems Design (FSD) accredited; or


  • endorse fire safety measures on annual or supplementary fire safety statements, you must be Fire Safety Assessment (FSA) accredited. 


All other fire protection roles are unaffected by the announcement.  


Read more



To apply, log in to CONNECT and go the FPAS > Fire Safety Assessment page, or click on the link below:


Apply here



The Fire Safety Assessment (FSA) class of FPAS accreditation accredits individuals who undertake assessment of the performance capability of fire safety measures (FSMs) for the purpose of informing an annual or supplementary fire safety statement.


This class of accreditation has been designed to address the requirements for certain fire protection work in New South Wales to be carried out by a 'competent fire safety practitioner', under the state's 2017 fire safety reforms.


To gain FSA accreditation, individuals must demonstrate a level of required knowledge, skill and experience to perform the fire safety assessor role, must hold appropriate insurance, and must agree to and abide by the FPA Australia Code of Professional Conduct.


On 1 July, 2020, the Secretary of the NSW Department of Customer Service approved FPA Australia as an accreditation authority under section 59 of the Building and Development Certifiers Act 2018


This recognition was given in relation to the Fire Safety Assessment (FSA) and Fire Systems Design (FSD) classes of FPAS accreditation under the state's 2017 fire safety reforms.


This means that individuals holding FSA or FSD accreditation, as appropriate, are now 'Accredited Practitioners (Fire Safety)' under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 (formerly competent fire safety practitioners) and are the only ones who can endorse: 


  • design plans and specifications (except for C8 electrical engineers or C14 hydraulic certifiers); or

  • fire safety measures on an annual or supplementary fire safety statement.


The FSA class of accreditation will ultimately be available across multiple jurisdictions, however the initial launch will be focused on NSW.


To get full details on the FSA class of accreditation, read the full FSA NSW Scheme Document, available here.



Fire Safety Assessment Accredited Practitioner Register


To find an FSA accredited practitioner near you, or verify the accreditation of your service provider, check the Fire Safety Assessment Accredited Practitioner Register. The Register contains a list of all practitioners who have been granted FSA accreditation under the Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS).


Access the Fire Safety Assessment Accredited Practitioner Register



Scope of the role

The role of the fire safety assessor is to satisfy the competent fire safety practitioner aspects of Part 9 Division 5 of the EP&A Regulation to:


  • Identify the standard of performance to which FSMs are required to operate and perform;
  • Assess (inspect and verify) that FSMs are operating and performing as required;
  • Inspect exits and paths of travel to exit to ensure there is no offence under the Regulation (as applicable); and
  • Complete the CFSP aspects of the approved Fire Safety Statement Form for annual or supplementary fire safety statements.


A more detailed description of the Fire Safety Assessment role commensurate with the requirements of the EP&A Regulation and validated via the FPAS accreditation process is expressed in section 4.9 of the NSW Competent Fire Safety Practitioner document, available here.


This assessment and inspection role is to satisfy clause 175 of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Amendment Regulation 2000 (the Regulation).




The Scheme requires accredited individuals to be appropriately covered by insurance for the fire protection services they undertake.

The Scheme requires an accredited individual to have a minimum insurance cover of:

  • $10 million for Public and Product liability; and
  • $2 million (inclusive of defence costs) for any claim for Professional Indemnity; or 
  • $1 million (exclusive of defence costs) for any one claim for Professional Indemnity. 

Public and products liability and Professional indemnity insurance held by an accredited individual must:

  • include in the list of business activities, all work activities relevant to the accreditation class and category held; and
  • be in the name of the accredited individual or the company name only and not be a joint policy with any other party; and
  • cover all past work of an accredited individual whilst accredited with Fire Protection Association Australia (FPA Australia) up to a maximum of 10 years. (Note: This is done by electing a Retroactive Date that is years past or electing a Retroactive Date of Unlimited). 


Accredited Individuals must provide a Certificate of Currency from their insurer as proof of their insurance cover for both Public and Product and Professional Indemnity insurance.


In relation to run-off provisions, which is when a sole trader retires or sells their business or a company or partnership is sold, FPA Australia recommends that individuals obtain professional indemnity insurance for seven (7) years after they cease working as a competent fire safety practitioner, so as to indemnify their work activities during the period for which they were accredited under the Scheme.


You can read the details of what your Certificate of Currency needs to provide here.  


If you have more questions, visit the Insurance FAQ page.  


Accreditation pathways

Transitional Accreditation pathway


Transitional Accreditation recognises the experience of an individual who has worked in the fire protection industry for a period of time and holds the minimum appropriate level of competency (knowledge, skills and experience) to perform the fire safety assessor role.


Individuals holding FSA Transitional Accreditation are required to transition to Qualified Accreditation within four years of formal approval (gazetting) of FSA by the NSW Government, and once an appropriate qualification becomes available, is specified by FPA Australia and approved by the NSW Department of Finance, Services and Innovation.


To gain FSA Transitional Accreditation, individuals are required to:


  • Demonstrate a minimum of three years of practical experience on several buildings for each FSM applied for;
  • Complete an FSA Awareness Session;
  • Pass the FSA Fundamental written assessment;
  • Pass a written assessment covering each FSM applied for;
  • Hold a minimum of $10 million Public & Products Liability Insurance and $2 million Professional Indemnity; and
  • Sign and abide by FPA Australia's Code of Professional Conduct.



Qualified Accreditation pathway (Available from 1st July 2021 )


Qualified Accreditation recognises individuals who have fulfilled the FSA class of accreditation requirements for relevant nationally-recognised qualifications or a set of competencies designated by FPA Australia.


Qualified Accreditation pathway will be available for FSA class of accreditation from the 1st July 2021.

Information regarding this pathway can be found here.



To apply, log in to CONNECT and go the FPAS > Fire Safety Assessment page, or click on the link below:


Apply here