Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131
CONNECT Member Login

Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS)


Looking for the FPAS Accredited Practitioner Registers?

Individual Register button




The Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS), launched in July 2013, is the only nationally harmonised accreditation system designed to recognise the skills and competencies of individuals working in the fire protection industry across all state and territory jurisdictions in Australia. FPAS also promotes and highlights businesses engaging accredited individuals through 'Recognised Business' provisions.


Our 2020 Vision for the Fire Protection Industry

FPA Australia has a simple goal for the fire protection industry: That all individuals will be 'fit-for-action' (trained, competent and accredited) by 2020.


We are committed to making this a reality and have listened to feedback from our members in order to make the training and accreditation process simpler and more affordable.


Available Classes of FPAS Accreditation

FPAS currently covers 'Inspect and Test', 'Fire Systems Design' and 'Fire Systems Certification' classes of work. For a more detailed overview of these accreditation classes, please refer to the links below.



Discounts are currently available for inspect & test training for Corporate members when all relevant staff obtain accreditation through the Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS). Click here to learn more.


Other classes will come on-stream over time, including 'Install & Commission', 'Maintain', 'Annual Fire Safety Assessment', and 'Emergency Planning and Training (EPT)'. 


The voluntary Scheme incorporates existing and essential components of the Australian Government training agenda on competency-based training and assessment.


FPAS is financed through a fee-based system on the application, attainment and renewal of accreditation of individuals. The Scheme is a vital component of ongoing efforts by the fire protection industry to increase its professionalism and delivery of quality services by engaging a technically competent workforce, ultimately leading to improved fire safety outcomes for the community.


Individual Accreditation

Individuals accredited under the Scheme must ultimately demonstrate competency to provide services for which they are accredited via an objective, formal assessment process.


Where launched, there are three (3) accreditation pathways for individuals:


1.    Qualified Accreditation

2.    Transitional Accreditation

3.    Trainee Accreditation


Accredited individuals who have gained Transitional or Trainee Accreditation are required to transition to Qualified Accreditation within a specified period (24 months for the 'Inspect and Test' class of accreditation). This transition period allows the individual to complete the required units of competency needed to successfully gain Qualified Accreditation under the Scheme.


See the FACT Sheets for further information on obtaining Qualified, Transitional or Trainee Accreditation.


Recognised Business

In parallel with the introduction of individual accreditation within the Inspect & Test class, an FPA Australia Corporate Member can gain 'Recognised Business' status.


Recognised Business status is awarded to business entities that are Corporate members of the Association and are investing in the skills, knowledge and experience of those fire protection professionals engaged in the business, thereby supporting them in achieving individual accreditation.

Businesses recognised by the Scheme only engage appropriately accredited individuals (fire protection professionals) to conduct Inspect & Test work in those categories for which the business provides services.


Accordingly, business entities that meet the FPAS Recognised Business criteria will be acknowledged as:


•    being capable of delivering quality professional services as they engage FPAS accredited individuals;

•    supporting the industry 'pathway' to increased quality and professionalism by ensuring its fire protection workforce is accredited through the Scheme and moving towards all individuals gaining FPAS Qualified Accreditation.


Click here to find out more on Registering your business for FPAS (Inspect & Test) and gaining Recognised Business Status (Inspect & Test).



Enquiries regarding FPAS should be directed to the Accreditation & Licensing department at the FPA Australia National Office on 03 8892 3131 or by email  .


Disclaimer:  FPAS is not a substitute for any requirements for licensing, registration or accreditation established by relevant applicable legislation (state, territory and/or federal) unless otherwise confirmed by relevant regulation.


Please Note:   Consultation regarding all elements of the Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme (FPAS) is ongoing, and as such all information contained on this page is subject to change.