Queensland restrictions


UPDATED - 20 October, 2021


Total active cases - 25

Locally acquired last 24 hours - 0

Overseas acquired last 24 hours - 0

Under investigation last 24 hours - 0

Locally acquired last 7 days - 1

Overseas acquired last 7 days - 4

Under investigation last 7 days - 0





Queensland is currently sitting at  stage 3 restrictions, but mask restrictions continue to apply to the following Local Government Areas, which have been declared impacted areas:  


  • City of Brisbane
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • City of Gold Coast
  • City of Ipswich
  • Lockyer Valley Regional Council
  • Logan City
  • Noosa Shire Council
  • Redland City
  • Scenic Rim Regional Council
  • Somerset Regional Council
  • Sunshine Coast Regional Council


Masks must still be worn at all times in these regions when you leave home, except when eating or drinking, or exercising with your household or one other person.  


Businesses must also collect contact information via the Check In Qld app.  For more information, check the Government's website  here.   





The Queensland Government has announced its border plans, with the release of the  COVID-19 Vaccine Plan to Unite Families.  The  plan identifies what will happen when that state hits:  


  • 70% double-vaccination - expected to be around 19 November, 2021; 
  • 80% - 17 December, 2021; and 
  • 90%.  


At present, however, (and with only 58.1% double-vaccinated in the State), the current travel restrictions are in place:  



  • orange zones have been declared for:    
    • South Australia - Adelaide City Council; City of Burnside; City of Port Adelaide Enfield; City of West Torrens; City of Salisbury; Coorong District Council; the District Council of Ceduna; Mid Murray Council; Port Augusta City Council; and Renmark Paringa Council; 
    • Tasmania - Brighton Council; Hobart City Council; and Launceston City Council
    • New Zealand - everywhere except for the South Island.  


Border zone LGAs are not non-restricted, and travellers can cross for a permitted purpose, but visitors to Queensland from border zones must complete a Queensland entry pass and comply with local rules, such as  face mask requirements.  


The rest of Australia is a green zone with no restrictions, unless someone has visited a hotspot.  


Please note:  FPA Australia tries to keep these pages as accurate and up-to-date as possible.  However, Coronavirus policy is changing rapidly, so practitioners should check the links to confirm what is required of them.