Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131


Fire Protection Industry Awards Gala Dinner


FPA Australia has a proud history of excellence dating back to the founding of the Association. 


The Australian Fire Protection Association (AFPA) was founded in 1960 by Mr Harry W Marryatt who was tasked by his employer, Wormald, to create an independent fire protection organisation in order to pursue the interests of its members in the public arena.  

Today the Fire Protection Industry Awards, hosted as part of the Fire Australia Conference Gala and Awards Dinner, recognise and honour the founding values of HW Marryatt and other founding members of the Association, including Mr Barry Lee, by promoting excellence across the fire protection industry.  


The judged awards categories (not all awarded every year) are:  


  • Barry Lee Technical Excellence Award
  • Fire Protection Project of the Year - Over $1 million
  • Fire Protection Project of the Year - Under $1 million
  • Harry Marryatt Fire Protection Company of the Year - 1 - 49 employees
  • Harry Marryatt Fire Protection Company of the Year - Over 50 employees
  • Innovative Product & Technology Award
  • Ron Coffey Award for Excellence in Bushfire Protection
  • Emerging Fire Protection Industry Leader Award
  • Young Achiever of the Year Award


In addition, two Board awards are issued:  



Recipients are leaders in the fire protection industry, and are worthy of recognition.