Fire Protection Association Australia 03 8892 3131
CONNECT Member Login

Board of Directors


All Directors are generally actively engaged in the fire protection industry, working for many of the major names in fire protection. They bring many years of knowledge and expertise to the Association, without personal financial gain.


Board members are not entitled to be remunerated for their participation on the FPA Australia Board but may be paid all travelling, hotel and other expenses properly incurred by them for attending and returning from meetings they attend outside of their state. Their participation on the Board of FPA Australia helps ensure its continued relevance and standing


The Board meets on a regular basis and many Directors are involved in various Technical Committees, Special Interest Groups, Australian Standards Committees, the annual Fire Australia Conference and Exhibition and many other fire protection activities throughout the year.


Download the full 2018/19 FPA Australia Board Meeting Schedule here.

Download the Association's strategic plan 2015-18 here.


To contact the FPA Australia Board please email If your email is intended for a particular board member, please specify this in the email subject line. 


FPA Australia Board of Directors  


Bill Lea 2013


President - Bill Lea


Bill's experience in the fire industry extends over 30 years. During this time he has established and operated several fire industry businesses. He is involved in several working groups to advance the fire protection industry educationally.

Rhondel Johannessen


Vice President - Rhondel Johannessen


Rhondel holds a Master of Education and Diploma in OH&S. She has been in the fire protection industry for over 15 years and is the Founder and Managing Director of DELTRA Australia, an RTO specialising in the delivery of Fire Safety Training. Rhondel is involved in various committees within the industry.

Chris Orr 2013


Director - Chris Orr


Chris has a Master of Fire Safety Engineering and a Graduate Diploma in Design for Bushfire Prone Areas, sits on a number of Standards Australia committees and brings to FPA Australia a wealth of knowledge on many facets of the industry.

Gina Patrick


Director - Gina Patrick


Gina's career as a CPA and Chief Financial Officer spans over 30 years, in both business advisory providing advice to clientele in various industries, and in senior roles assisting boards in public companies and membership organisations. Gina is currently Managing Director of Plus Passive Fire and is passionate about enhancing passive fire compliance, providing greater awareness for building owners and life safety for the community.

Alan Head


Director - Alan Wilson


Alan has over 40 years experience in the insurance industry, operating his own business for the last 30 years. He is a Senior Associate of the Australian & New Zealand Insurance Institute, a Qualified Practicing Insurance Broker and holds a Diploma in Financial Services (Insurance Broking). In 2014 Alan was awarded the A.V Viscogliosi award, in recognition of his contribution to the industry via the fire protection insurance scheme.

Hank Van Ravenstein 2013


Director - Hank Van Ravenstein


Hank is the Principal Manager on Fire Risk Management for the Victorian Department of Health & Human Services. He manages at a high level the fire risk management policy, strategy & principles and regulatory compliance. Hank represents the Department on several executive and other high-level discussions and committees on fire risk management. He holds an Executive Master of Public Administration which has further developed his ability in the formation of policies.

Elissa Fazio


Director - Elissa Fazio


Elissa has a long history in the industry, predominantly in the fire engineering sector. She has significant experience in risk management, property operations and legislative compliance. She is a representative for Engineers Australia on the ABCC and is an invited member of the CESARE Industry Board at VUT.

David Blackett

Director - David Blackett


David is an accredited certifier (unrestricted) in NSW, ACT and QLD, and also serves on the Board of the Association of Accredited Certifiers (AAC). As a practicing certifier, David offers a new dimension of input and experience to the Board and assist with its continued strategic growth and industry recognition.



Scott Williams 2013

Chief Executive Officer - Scott Williams


Scott is the Chief Executive Officer of FPA Australia and has a managerial / executive background in the Technology, Marine / Shipping and Service industry. Scott is integrated across the Fire Protection industry sitting on various boards, working groups and committees.



For more information about the operation of the Board of Directors please contact the FPA Australia National Office.